MUSINGS

Do not ask me how old I am!

My purple diary is a bit dusty considering how long it has been since I wrote on here. I turned a year older this month. You know you are truly growing older/ old when you start  introducing yourself as a 20 sth. Yes that’s  me, I’m now 20 sth. You also know you are growing older when documents that ask you to enter your age agitate  you. And you quickly scribble over 18 again that’s me! But it gets worse when they ask you to enter your date of birth (DOB) can things get anymore irritating? what are they trying to do? steal my identity or sign me up on this site! Yani! For real what does age have to do with anything? It’s a requirement to give age information on almost every application form. Bank account DOB Facebook registration DOB, smart card reg the same what’s it to you! I can’t remember any one time the birthday date on my ID helped me get anything. i think it’s only useful  (forgive the irony) to underage kids with fake IDS while trying to get into a club or buy alcohol at uchumi, thanks  to Mutotho.

I  don’t mind growing old, I just don’t get why everyone has to know it especially some stranger somewhere using my information for some research so that they can keep making money off me no matter how old I am. All I’m saying is I think DOB is not as necessary as they ( whoever they are) make it seem. Age is not always a reflection of maturity if it was some people would always be 17. Nobody chooses to age,no one chooses not to, it’s simply part of us it just happens! Tomorrow you will be a day older in a hundred years my dear, I bet you, you will be as good as dead. Pun  very much intended, too bad I won’t be alive to collect the bet. So yeah, no one chooses to be born, and no human can stop time we are mortals. We live, we Age and we die. A lot happens in between but today i don’t want to have a moral in this post. Just don’t ask me  how old I am.😜

6 thoughts on “Do not ask me how old I am!”

  1. Wacha ma hurts babe. Ka umezeeka umezeeka, lol! JK though. I totally agree. With age does not always come maturity.

  2. Aiihh!!! Sasa, hata wakijua your age, they won’t make you older or younger…. they’ll only put you in a box and decide that they know your intelligence – or more accurately the lack thereof – and decide they know your behaviour and your reactions to things…. as if by knowing your age “they” can know you… never realising the experience that has gone into your years shapes you, not the box they put you in….

      1. “They”, happen to be me and you and everyone else who try to guess people’s ages so that we can put them in any of the following clusters:

        The Geography Of A Woman

        Between 18 and 22, a woman is like Africa, half discovered, half wild, fertile and naturally beautiful.

        Between 23 and 30, a woman is like Europe, well-developed and open to trade, especially for someone with cash.

        Between 31 and 35, a woman is like Spain, very hot, relaxed and convinced of her own beauty.

        Between 36 and 40, a woman is like Greece, gently aging but still a warm and desirable place to visit.

        Between 41 and 50, a woman is like Great Britain, with a glorious and all-conquering past.

        Between 51 and 60, a woman is like Israel, has been through war and doesn’t make the same mistakes twice, takes care of business.

        Between 61 and 70, a woman is like Canada, self-preserving but open to meeting new people.

        After 70, she becomes Tibet, wildly beautiful, with a mysterious past and the wisdom of the ages; only those with an adventurous spirit and a thirst for spiritual knowledge visit there.

        The Geography Of A Man

        Between 1 and 90, a man is like Iran, ruled by nuts.

      2. 23-30 lol ati especially for someone with cash. I love after 70 too soo true!!! i do not put people in boxes na-ah just cages that way they can never come out.

Leave a Reply

