TESTIMONIES

A story of Grace

I was listening to this song yesterday it’s based on Rom 8:38-39, which says

38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

How great the Fathers love for us. Sometimes this is hard to believe or relate to. That God pursues us with a love so strong so determined and everlasting that nothing can separate us from Him.

Until yesterday I didn’t think I had a worthy to tell ‘how I got saved story’, because I can’t remember the day or time I got saved. I don’t remember saying the sinner’s prayer and knowing this is it, I am now saved. Because growing up I said the sinner’s prayer after every TV preaching, Church sermon and school bible study. I even remember how it starts, “Lord Jesus, Come into my heart…….” I have always wanted a how I got saved story, those heart wrenching tear jerking stories people tell on Turning point that end with music and a happy ever after sought of feel. But, I didn’t have one. Instead I have had more than one turning points in my life, several actually.

Mine has been a story of grace, that saving grace that appears to all men those who have heard and those who will never hear. That grace that is driven by love, a love so great it can never be taken away. When I got home in the evening, I took out some of my journals one I wrote at 13, 17 and 20 sth 🙂 Other than the variation in handwriting, there was also a variance in to whom I wrote to.

At 13 my entries begun with Dear Diary, ( I had watched the Brigit Jones diary and that is how she did it :P)

At 17 my entries begun with Dear Neemal (not much creativity required that was the name of the diary publishing company)

At 20 sth, my entries begun with Dear God.

That is my story of Grace. All along I knew my thoughts and meditations needed to be addressed to someone and somewhere in between I found to whom I should address them to and that was God. I am calling this a story of grace because I am convinced that Jesus sought me out even when I was not searching or seeking and didn’t know i needed to. When I was oblivious of his salvation, he still sought me out, when I got saved every Sunday, Wednesday and Saturday He was still knocking. And when I accepted him into my heart the very first time and did not know he had already come in and kept inviting him in He still sought me. Even when I addressed my thoughts to my ‘Dear Diary’ that is made by human hands and Neemal that is not has no breath or capacity to comprehend and which I had given such a nonsensical name and ignored Christ who was right there, Jesus still pursued me.

He still pursues me when I choose my phone , my job, friends etc. over him. He is there and when I look at my life I see Christ seeking me out, so hard he died on the cross for me long before I knew I needed saving. Mine is a story of grace, ours (each and everyone’s is a story of Grace), they are worth sharing.  And I am convinced that; neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

check out the song Nothing could ever separate us by Citizen way

4 thoughts on “A story of Grace”

Leave a Reply

