MUSINGS, TESTIMONIES

As iron sharpens iron

I sat across her in the sitting room, it was a lazy Sunday and I had just woken up from an afternoon nap. I was expecting her visit but not necessarily anticipating it, if anything I wished she forgot we had planned for a meeting. I knew what was coming and I dreaded it, after all what fun is there in receiving rebuke. But there she was nonetheless a tad bit late but she was there, determined as ever to have a talk to me.  It started out breezy, we caught up on each others life as she sipped on the pineapple juice I had offered anything more complicated would have taken long to prepare lengthening her stay. I wanted to get over and done with this. It was obvious I was nervous because I laughed unnecessarily and fidgeted on my seat. I sat there overly kind and talkative to avoid the conversation steering in the direction that I knew it would soon take. All my blubbering did not save me though, because she eventually cleared her throat and announcement that her visit was well purposed. I raised my eyebrows at a failed attempt to show surprise and helplessly waited for her to say what I had avoided for three weeks.

‘I love you’, she said, ‘and that is why I am here, otherwise I would have let this slide. You need to fix a few things in your life and I cant sit on the sidelines and watch you give it all up” .

There she had said it, and I wished I could have literally melted into the seat I was on slowly seeping into the sponge that way no one would notice I ever existed. But instead I sat through this one on one intervention listening to her speak life into my life in a way that no one ever had. I watched as 2 Timothy 3:16-17 was practiced


All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.


I survived the rebuking that day and the correcting, I came out with bruises and wounds because as cliche as it sounds the truth really does hurt. It hurts and burns even when told with love, but it eventually brings life. Looking back now, I am grateful for that friend who cared more for my soul than my feelings and pointed me back to the word. I am thankful to many others who have done the same as they discipled me. I pray that I am that friend to others one who daily encourages others as described in Hebrews 10: 23-25


Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.

 


8 thoughts on “As iron sharpens iron”

Leave a Reply

