FMF: Belong

 
 

 
Yesterday, my mum, uncle, two aunts and I were sitting at some dingy restaurant the conversation flowed. The bursts of laughter could be heard by all the other people there that is what you get when you are seated with my mum and aunt laughter-lots of it and exaggerated stories. Much as it was entertaining I wished i was home or heading home, it was getting late and it was a weekday I imagined I had so much to do and this chit chat was not getting me anywhere. Then, the conversation shifted as it always does to my dad, they tell stories of him as if he was a hero of sorts (maybe he was). 
 
They told of a day he went to church a tad bit hangover and he was told, by an announcement in church of course that people who went to church drunk did not belong there. When I heard that I wasn’t shocked as much as I was disappointed, this was a church. Who on earth belonged to church then? The righteous, the saved, the clean, the sober, the straight? Where are the lost, the sinners, the addicts and the sick supposed to go. Where do they belong?
 
The answer was is in Mark 2: 15- 17

15 And as he reclined at table in his house, many tax collectors and sinners were reclining with Jesus and his disciples, for there were many who followed him. 16 And the scribes of the Pharisees, when they saw that he was eating with sinners and tax collectors, said to his disciples, “Why does he eat  with tax collectors and sinners?” 17 And when Jesus heard it, he said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.”


 

8 thoughts on “FMF: Belong

  1. So true. Those most in need should be those most welcome. But, I also recognize that sometimes those who “seem” to need it the least are the ones who need it the most (to get the message that they should not be judging others by their own terms, but loving others!). Thanks for the important reminder. -Stopping by from FMF-

  2. It’s so sad when churches and Christians forget that they are all sinners. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. Stopping by from FMF – I struggle with churches and congregations and individuals who don’t embrace all. I have felt that same disappointment. I could hear the Casting Crowns song in my head as I was reading your post…a favorite of mine because it says what I believe.
    “Jesus payed much too high a price
    For us to pick and choose who should come
    And we are the body of Christ”

  4. Hi Siam… there’s a condition called “fellowshipitis”… it makes believers want to stick closer to other believers and stay away from “sinners”. The main reason is that they recognize the ‘sinners’ in themselves and walk with this great fear that interacting with one who is ‘sinning’ openly will tempt them to fall back… Which is technically a failure because the call of Jesus is for believers to be light that attracts the ‘sinners’ to Jesus. We should pray so that we don’t become blinders that block the light of Christ from shining out to attract those who don’t believe in Him… even when they come right to the church to hear the gospel

    Key point is: One does not need to be born again to go to church, just as one doesn’t need to be healed before visiting the hospital

    • Confession: I have fellowshipitis (lol that term) And it is so true we do not like what we see in others that reminds us of ourselves.
      I hope that we will get to a point where we look not to ourselves but outward to Christ then shall we see that the same grace that was extended to us has been extended to all men.

Leave a Reply

