Five Minute Friday

FMF: HIDE

hide

When did I bury my little light in this self dug pit,

When did I exchange my coloured coat for one shaded grey,

Corners now feel safer,

somewhere in the fringes,

not quite wanting to be the center of attraction any  more or sit in the front row.

When did I start hiding?

Are you hiding?

It feels safe to, I know.

But you can only make out shadows in the dark.

Lets stop, I pledge to.

Therefore:

This little lamp of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.

This post is a part of Five Minute Friday, a writing flash mob that happens every week when writers are prompted by a single word to write for 5 minutes without any major editing here.

4 thoughts on “FMF: HIDE”

  1. Stopping by from FMF. A lot of depth in just a few words here. I’m probably viewing it from my own type of hiding but it is definitely true, you can only make out shadows in the darkness of your hiding place.

    1. Thank you Sara, the beauty with words is that the reader is free to interpret them as they will. I am glad you could relate. Let us reach out for light:)

  2. “Corners now feel safer, somewhere in the fringes.”

    Lovely, and hits me right in the gut. I get a picture of cowering. Of letting fear press me in on all sides. This is my life; this is what I know. We have to fight, to choose, to let our lights shine. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

